U16s Newcastle Jets taste defeat for the first time against Rydalmere Lions FC


In icy and windy conditions at the LMRFF on Sunday afternoon the U16s Newcastle Jets sustained their first defeat of the season at the hands of Rydalmere Lions FC! In probably the worst game of the season, the Newcastle team created just one clear cut goal scoring opportunity throughout the entire match while Rydalmere created none! The only goal came from a cross and a deflection from a Newcastle player that placed the ball into the path of a Rydalmere forward who had no difficulty tapping the ball into the net.

Having one of the best defenses in the league and coming away with two defeats in their last three matches, Rydalmere were determined to keep the Newcastle Jets at bay. Five yellow cards and a red is a good indication of their determination in this match. The Jets dominated play, were strong in defense and dominant in midfield but failed to crack open the opposition defense. To the credit of the Jets coaching staff, players were rotated constantly throughout the game to find the right recipe for success but it wasn’t meant to be.

This is the U16s Newcastle Jet’s first defeat in 15 matches and with another 15 games left, there is plenty of opportunity for continued success.


Round 16: Newcastle Jets vs Rydalmere Lions FC on Sunday 5th June at LMRFF Speers Point.

U18s Jets lost 2-1

U16s Jets lost 1-0

U15s Jets lost 1-0

U14s Jets won 7-0

U13s Jets won 5-3


U16s Round 16 FNSW Boy’s Youth League2 Results:




U16s FNSW Boy’s Youth League2 Table:



FNSW Boy’s Youth League2 Club Championship:


Newcastle Jets: Angus Martin 35, Giles Harrison 36, Caleb Reed 38, Max Cooper 41, Zac Major 42, George Tsamouras 43, Cooper Vimpani 45, Luca West 46, Jordan Gu 48, Ethan Lewis 50, Seth Anderson 90 Subs: Kynan Watkins 37, Kruze Davidson 44, Jake Goodwin 57, Will Dobson 59, Patrick Innes 66,

Rydalmere Lions FC: Adrian-Jamie Bazina 1(GK), Christian Podetti 3, Cooper Van Den Burg 4, Tristan Boutros 5, Marc Bounassif 6, Zachary Pace 7, Gian La Grazia 9, Prayaag Darsjan Thapa 10, Callum McNamara 12, Zac Zarrino 14, Bassam Jallal Sabbagh 16, Subs: Kale James de la Cruz 11, Rhys Van Den Burg 13, Aidan Mulder 18, Zac Saitis 19, Ryan Wilson 30.

Cards: Yellow 42’ Zachary Pace, 57’ Zachary Pace, 65’ Ryan Wilson, 70’ Callum McNamara, 79’ Prayaag Dashan Thapa, 57’Red Zachary Pace.

source: Tom Tsamouras

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.